Homemade Cottage Cheese

Homemade Cottage Cheese

 Too many times I wish I had cottage cheese in my fridge for one recipe or another, and find I am completely out.  I don’t want to run to the store just for cottage cheese.  So I started looking on line for ways to make my own at home.  After some tweaking, here is what I’ve come up with.  I’ve eaten it plain, and in salads, and other dishes that call for cottage cheese.  It tastes great.
I’ve also read that when you get the munchies at night, cottage cheese is a good thing to eat.  It helps keep your metabolism working all night, without keeping you awake.

Homemade Cottage Cheese 

1 gallon milk (I’ve used whole milk and 2% and personally prefer 2%)
1 gallon milk makes approximately 4 cups.

Heat this in a pan that will hold more than 1 gallon of liquid.  Heat on medium heat to 180 degrees, or just to the boiling point.  Stir to keep from scalding on the bottom.

Heat Milk to 180 degrees

Once milk reaches 180 degrees, stir in 3/4 cup vinegar slowly.  (I’ve tried apple cider vinegar and white vinegar.  The white vinegar tastes better to me.)

Stir in Vinegar

Remove from heat and let stand 10 minutes.  You will see it start to curdle right away.

Milk starts to form Curds

Pour this through a cheese cloth or mesh strainer to separate the curds and whey.  You can keep the whey and use it later in just about anything item you will make that calls for water, soups, cakes, smoothies, etc.

Pour Milk through strainer to separate curds and whey
Whey to be used in other foods

Remove the whey container once drained.  Then rinse with cold water.

Rinse Cottage Cheese with Cold Water
Sprinkle with Salt to taste

Sprinkle with salt to taste, and place in an air tight container until you are ready to use.  Can be used immediately.  If you want a creamier cottage cheese, add a couple of tablespoons of half&half or cream. (I’ve also added plain Greek Yogurt, and my homemade Greek Yogurt with  great results.)

Finished Product
Cottage Cheese
Leave a Reply

