Oil Pulling ~ Peroxide Pulling

OK, so there is a new Ayurvedic healing tradition that is circulating around right now called Oil Pulling.  Basically you take 1 tablespoon of Sunflower, Olive, Sesame or Coconut oil and swish it around in your mouth for 20 minutes then spit it out.  By doing so your teeth are supposed to get whiter, your gums pinker, toxins eliminated from your body, your digestive system working better, metabolism increased, weight loss, etc. etc.

Sunflower Oil

Sunflower Oil

I figured, what the heck, I have Sunflower Oil at home, won’t cost me a dime to try.  After about 10 days I’ve decided it isn’t for me.  My teeth actually got more yellow, my gums didn’t appear any more pink than before trying this, and nothing else improved.

So now, instead of swishing oil in my mouth for 20 minutes, I am swishing 35% food grade hydrogen peroxide diluted to 3% in my mouth.  I swish about 1 tablespoon for about 10 minutes.  Just the first day alone my teeth were whiter than ever.  Of course, that oil did a number on them despite my normal dental hygiene routine.  Some say that just swishing for a minute each day is sufficient.  Hydrogen peroxide will kill the bad bacteria, help stimulate and keep the gums healthy, and help with halitosis.  When you first begin, you might find your gums turning white.  Supposedly it is from the bacteria on your gums, and will return to their normal color within 30 minutes or so.  Be warned that this can become foamy as well.

Hydrogen Peroxide 3%

Hydrogen Peroxide 3%

During this time, I ended up having a filling fall out of my tooth.  My dentist is a 3 hour drive one way away.  This was not happening.  I decided that while I was scoping out new dentists, I would give Coconut Oil Pulling a try.  My son had been doing this, and since he was studying to be a dentist, I thought why not.  If he recommends it, I’ll try it.  I must say, I was very very consistent at doing this daily for an entire 30 days.

Coconut Oil

Coconut Oil

Within the first 3 days, I no longer had any sensitivity to the tooth where the filling fell out.  Within the first 7 days, my teeth were noticeably whiter.  At the 2 week mark, my gums were pinker, healthier looking.  By the end of 30 days, I was so hooked on the Oil Pulling with Coconut Oil, that I’ve kept on doing it about 5 days a week now, and it’s been 10 months.

I honestly can say that enamel is starting to form where the filling fell out, but you can obviously tell there is something missing.  I don’t have any rough edges where it fell out.  I’ve had other sensitivity issues I felt were cavities starting to form.  During those times I would also rinse with either salt water or hydrogen peroxide (3%) just to make sure all was OK.  I don’t think I need to see a dentist.

Another one of my sons felt like he was getting a cavity.  No dental insurance.  I told him about Oil Pulling with Coconut Oil.  His sensitivity was gone within 7 days, and he doesn’t think he needs to see a dentist now.

I don’t think my teeth got any whiter by oil pulling.  Regular brushing with my homemade toothpaste, and rinsing with hydrogen peroxide has been the best for this.  On the other hand, my gums that were receding at an alarming rate have slowed down, and the dentist did prove through x-rays that my gums have actually started to regrow and filling in where they had receded.  So Yeah.  I’m sold on Oil Pulling with Coconut Oil.

Leave a Reply

